[fyeg_gen-l] FW: New Report: 'Damning Indictment' of British involvement in renditions and torture

Cédric Dartois cedricdartois at hotmail.com
Wed Apr 5 09:09:16 CEST 2006




>From: "Fizza Qureshi" <fizza.qureshi at gmail.com>
>To: "Ashraf Razi" <ashrafrazi at hotmail.com>, "Harmit Athwal" 
><mit at irr.org.uk>, "mashhuda ali" <mashhuda at hotmail.com>, 
>amna_maryamali at hotmail.com, "Ann Alexander" <ann.starforth at tesco.net>, "Gul 
>Bahar" <gulsilas at yahoo.co.uk>, Lavan <blavan1978 at yahoo.co.uk>, "Gunilla 
>Backman" <gunillabackman at yahoo.com>, "Romany Blythe" 
><RomanyRomany at hotmail.com>, "Natasha Chinnapen" 
><natasha_chinnapen at hotmail.com>, "Deepak Gupta" <cmaj72001 at yahoo.co.uk>, 
>"Pauline Collins" <collpm at hotmail.co.uk>, "Seamus Carey" 
><scarey39 at yahoo.co.uk>, "Colin Smith" <colinsmith83 at gmail.com>, Cedric 
><cedricdartois at hotmail.com>, "Debra Lillistone-Squires" 
><dalsquires at hotmail.com>, Dawud <gustavedavid at hotmail.com>, "Gail Falder" 
><gail_falder at yahoo.co.uk>, Hagir <Hagiruk at yahoo.co.uk>, "richard howlett" 
><richardhowlet3 at hotmail.com>, "Jason Jouavel" <j_jouavel at hotmail.com>, 
>locamosquita at hotmail.com, "Max Pettigrew" <maxpettigrew at hotmail.com>, "Mag 
>Michael" <magmichael at hotmail.com>, "Osman Muhammad" 
><osman.muhammad at gmail.com>, "Barbara Plett" <barbara.plett at bbc.co.uk>, 
>"Pardeep Singh Rai" <panjabdeep at yahoo.co.uk>, "Sadaf Qureshi" 
><sadaf.k.qureshi at gmail.com>, studentrespect at city.ac.uk, "Tauseef Zahid" 
><tauseefzahid at gmail.com>, Bini <untamed_tigeress at hotmail.com>
>Subject: New Report: 'Damning Indictment' of British involvement in 
>renditions and torture
>Date: Tue, 28 Mar 2006 10:25:04 +0100
>

-------------- next part --------------
---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: estella <estella24 at tiscali.co.uk>
Date: Mar 28, 2006 9:55 AM
Subject: FW: New Report: 'Damning Indictment' of British involvement in
renditions and torture
To: Jonathan Bloch <j.bloch at exchange-data.com>
Cc: DAVID EDWARD MORGAN <morganshs at hotmail.com>, AM Gray <
amgggg2 at yahoo.co.uk>, Les Levidov <L.Levidow at open.ac.uk>, deepak gupta <
cmaj72001 at yahoo.co.uk>, Tom Frost <tommyf1984 at hotmail.co.uk>, hugo <
hugo at gn.apc.org>, Dr Siddiqui <drsiddiqui at talk21.com>, saleh mamon <
salehmamon at yahoo.co.uk>, Lochlinn Parker <lochlinnparker at yahoo.co.uk>, Fizza
Qureshi <fizza.qureshi at gmail.com>, Desmond Fernandes <
dajfernandes at yahoo.co.uk>, Tom Allen <tallen at bond.org.uk>

PLESE CIRCULATE!

------ Forwarded Message
*From: *Asim Qureshi <asim.qu at gmail.com>
*Date: *Tue, 28 Mar 2006 01:32:03 +0100
*To: *Asim Qureshi <asim.qu at gmail.com>
*Subject: *New Report: 'Damning Indictment' of British involvement in
renditions and torture

CAGE PRISONERS
PRESS RELEASE

28/03/2006



*New Report: 'Damning Indictment' of British involvement in renditions and
torture
*
The Report, *Fabricating Terrorism: British Complicity in Renditions and
Torture*, highlights a litany of cases where British authorities have been
expressly involved in the torture and illegal rendition of suspects in the
'War on Terror'. Such unlawful practices have been strongly condemned by
human rights organisations worldwide, and yet Britain remains complicit in
them.

Geoffrey Bindman, chair of the British Institute of Human Rights, comments
that the document is a, *'damning indictment' *of British policy. He
continues to say that the cases,

*"…demonstrate an intolerable level of collaboration and collusion between
UK and US authorities in the abuses which have taken place at Guantanamo and
elsewhere through the 'outsourcing' of torture."
*
The case studies provided on the ex-Guantánamo detainees provides shocking
evidence that British authorities were complicit in their abduction and
torture before being sent to Guantánamo and even whilst being detained
there.

Binyamin Al Habashi – a British resident kidnapped and rendered to
Guantánamo via the torture dungeons of Morocco relates his Moroccan
torturers mocking him, *"Why do you think the Brits sold you out to us so
cheaply? Why do you think they sent you here?...We have been working with
the British, and we have photos of people given to us by MI5."
*

The Report can be found at:
*http://www.cageprisoners.com/downloads/FabricatingTerrorism_Report.pdf

*Executive Summary:
*
http://www.cageprisoners.com/downloads/FabricatingTerrorism_ExecutiveSummary.pdf

*Press Pack:
*http://www.cageprisoners.com/downloads/FabricatingTerrorism_PressPack.pdf
*


Cage Prisoners is a human rights organisation that exists solely to raise
awareness of the plight of the prisoners at Guantanamo Bay and other
detainees held as part of the War on Terror. We aim to give a voice to the
voiceless.


Contact:

Asim Qureshi: 07973264197 or asim.q at cageprisoners.com

www.cageprisoners.com
<http://www.cageprisoners.com/><http://www.cageprisoners.com/>



--
No virus found in this outgoing message.
Checked by AVG Free Edition.
Version: 7.1.385 / Virus Database: 268.3.2/293 - Release Date: 26/03/2006



------ End of Forwarded Message




More information about the fyeg_gen-l mailing list