



## Invitation

ECPMF Conference, 5 October 2017: "Defending journalists under threat - solidarity, support and safe houses"

Prosecution of journalists in Turkey, frequent attacks on media workers in Hungary, Poland and Ukraine, accreditations withdrawn at the G20 summit in Germany and daily harassment through verbal abuse and hate speech ... threats to journalists and violations of media freedom are on the increase across Europe.

You are cordially invited to Leipzig, Germany on October 5th 2017, to explore practical solutions for tackling the many threats that media workers face today. Meet journalists under threat, high-profile experts, politicians and representatives of support networks to discuss

- legal assistance for whistleblowers and their journalistic contacts
- safe houses away from home for media workers under threat
- political measures that are needed to improve the current situation
- and much more

Our keynote speaker will be OSCE's new Representative on Freedom of the Media, Harlem Désir.

Looking forward to see you at: ECPMF Conference "Defending journalists under threat – solidarity, support and safe houses" Thursday, October 5th, 2017, 9am-6pm Leipzig School of Media, Poetenweg 28, Leipzig, Germany

See you soon! Dr. Lutz Kinkel **ECPMF Managing Director** 

> For more information and the programme please visit the event website: http://bit.ly/ECPMF17Threat. There you also find further info on the venue and accommodation. The programme will be updated regularly.

> Please confirm your participation until September 25th 2017 on the event website or via email: conference@ecpmf.eu.

The conference is free of charge. The conference language is English.

Please share this information with all your networks.









Menckestraße 27 04155 Leipzig Germany

phone: +49 (0) 341 200 403 13 +49 (0) 341 562 96 63 fax:

email: info@ecpmf.eu web: www.ecpmf.eu

European Centre for Press and Media Freedom, SCE with limited liability

Cooperative register of the District Court Leipzig: GnR 534

**Executive Board:** Henrik Kaufholz (Chair), Hans-Ulrich Jörges (Vice Chair), Galina Arapova, Mogens Blicher Bjerregård, Christoph Keese, Stephan Seeger, Liiliana Smailovic

Chair of Supervisory Board: Balazs Nagy Navarro

Managing Director: Dr Lutz Kinke

supported by the