

G8+5 Climate Change Dialogue Berlin Legislators Forum German Bundestag

German Bundestag
Sunday 3rd- Monday 4th June 2007
Updated Version 29/5/2007

Day 1

1330	Registration
1400	Welcome and Opening Remarks (Open to Media)
	Chair & opening Remarks: Rt Hon Elliot Morley MP (President of GLOBE International)
	Welcome: Hosting Bundestag Members: Frank Schwabe MdB & Michael Kauch MdB
1430	Opening Session 1- German G8 Presidency & Gleneagles Dialogue (Open to Media)
	Chancellor Angela Merkel (tbc) Presentation of the German G8 Presidency Priorities
	Keynote Speaker: Rt Hon Tony Blair MP UK Prime Minister
	Prime Minister Shinzo Abe (by video)
	Japanese Prime Minister (PM Abe's video to be introduced by Ms Yuriko Koike MP –Prime Minister's National Security Advisor)
1515	Business Participants (From those listed) – Roundtable Discussion on Global Carbon Markets
	Mr Jim Rogers CEO Duke Prof Lars Josefsson CEO Vattenfall Sir Mark Moody-Stewart
	Chairman Anglo-American
1615	<u>To respond:</u> (Open to Media)
	Statement by German Delegation Leader Statement by Chinese Delegation Leader
	Comments during discussion: World Bank delegation Leader US Delegation Leader Indian Delegation Leader European Parliament Delegation Leader
1700	<u>Discussion- (1 hour):</u> (Open to Media)
1800	<u>Forum Closes – transport to the Hotel de Rome</u>



1845	Transport from Hotel de Rome to Berlin Pergamon Hotel
1900	Drinks Reception
2000	GLOBE International Dinner
	Day 2 – Monday 4 th June
0845	Session 3 – Delivering Technologies via Carbon Markets (Open to Media) Chair: Mr Anders Wijkman MEP
0945	Keynote Address & Discussion Mr Tony Hayward Group Chief Executive Officer, BP
	A. Carbon Capture & Storage Chair: Rt Hon Stephen Byers MP Chair Dialogue Market Mechanisms Working Group & Former UK cabinet Minister for Trade & Industry
	IEA Presentation on CCS and Future Energy Scenarios (5 minutes) Mr Neil Hirst IEA Director of Research
	Speaker: Mr Roger Wicks Head of Energy, Anglo American
	To Respond (5 min): Frank Schwabe MdB
1045	B. Energy Efficiency Chair: Mr Takashi Kosugi MP & Mr Anders Wijkman MEP Chair Efficiency Working Group & Chair Technology Working Group
	IEA Presentation on Energy Efficiency and Future Energy Scenarios (5 minutes) Mr Neil Hirst IEA Director of Research
	Speaker: Mr. Hajime Sasaki Chairman of the Board, NEC Corporation Mr Takashi Hongo Japanese Bank for International Cooperation
	To Respond (5 min): Mr Andreas Jung MdB

Refreshments Break

1130



1145	Session 3 – C. Renewables
	Chair: Mr Anders Wijkman MEP Chair Technology Working Group & Former Deputy UN Secretary General
	IEA Presentation on Renewables and Future Energy Scenarios (5 minutes) Mr Neil Hirst Director of Research
	Speaker: To be confirmed
	To Respond (5 min): Dr. Reinhard Loske MdB
1225	Financial Mechanisms
	<u>Speaker</u> <i>Ms Kryistalina Gieorgieva</i> Director of Strategy and Operations for Sustainable Development World Bank
1255	<u>Lunch</u>
1335	Session 4 - Adaptation Chair: Hon Suresh Prabhu MP Chairman Adaptation Working Group & former Indian Cabinet Minister for Power
	Speaker Ms Monique Barbut Chief Executive Officer & Chairman of the Global Environment Facility
	To Respond (5 min): Ms Eva Bulling-Schröter MdB
1430	Session 5 – Presentation of GLOBE Future Framework Policy Paper
	Lord Michael Jay Former Head of UK Foreign Office & Prime Minister's Representative to the G8 in 2005 & 2006
1530	Refreshments Break
1545	Session 6 – Forests & Climate: World Bank Presentation of Global Forest Partnership (Joint session of the G8 Illegal Logging Dialogue & G8+5 Climate Change Dialogue)
	Chairs: Mr Barry Gardiner MP UK Minister for Biodiversity and Co-Chair of the GLOBE G8 Illegal Logging Dialogue Senator Shays Slhessarenko Brazilian Delegation Leader and Member of the Brazilian Senate



Keynote Address: World Bank

Hon Didace Pembe MP

Democratic Republic of Congo Minister of Forests

1615	<u>Discussion</u>
1700	Forum Closes
1830	Drinks Reception
2000	Closing Dinner